Thursday, July 5, 2018


Lesa Holstine is the recipient the 2018 David Thompson Memorial Special Service Award by the Bouchercon Board

The World Mystery Convention, Bouchercon, is pleased to announce that Lesa Holstine is the recipient of the 2018 David Thompson Memorial Special Service Award for her contributions to the mystery community. The World Mystery Convention is a nonprofit, all-volunteer organization which holds an annual convention attended by readers, writers, publishers, editors, agents, booksellers and other lovers of crime fiction.  The David Thompson Award will be presented during the Anthony Awards ceremony on September 8 at Bouchercon in St. Petersburg, Florida.

The David Thompson Memorial Special Service Award is given by the Bouchercon Board to honor the memory and contributions to the crime fiction community of David Thompson, a beloved Houston bookseller who passed away in 2010. Winners are recognized for their “extraordinary efforts to develop and promote the crime fiction field.”

Lesa Holstine has been sharing her passion for books—especially mysteries—with readers since 2005. Her blog, Lesa’s Book Critiques, is a go-to destination for readers. Her reviews now appear in Mystery Readers Journal,, and in Library Journal. Lesa is also the blogger for Poisoned Pen Bookstore, and she started the Authors @ The Teague program in the Glendale, Arizona Library System.

Lesa is the author of the “Mystery Fiction” chapter in Genreflecting: A Guide to Popular Reading Interests (7th ed.) and has been a panelist for Sisters in Crime at the Public Library Association’s conference and has served on panels at Left Coast Crime and Bouchercon. She has also moderated crime fiction panels at the Tucson Festival of Books.

Lesa is beloved by readers and acclaimed authors alike.

Louise Penny, author of the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache series, said: “Lesa has championed crime writing with intelligence, passion, warmth and insight. This meaningful award, named for a wonderful man, could not go to a better recipient than Lesa Holstine!” 

Craig Johnson, author of the Walt Longmire Series, said: “When you write for a living you’ve always got that one reader that you’re shooting for, the one that will get what you’re trying to do, and for me that reader is Lesa Holstine.” 

Hank Phillippi Ryan, author of the Jane Ryand series and the forthcoming TRUST ME, said: “Lesa’s unabashed enthusiasm, unflagging support and astonishing knowledge of crime fiction continues to change lives and change careers. Her incredibly hard work as a librarian, blogger, reviewer and cheerleader enriches our community and brightens our days.” 

Cara Black, author of the Aimée Leduc series, said: “Lesa began a visiting author series and welcomed every mystery author in town with open arms to her library. I remember Lesa sitting in the back and writing away, supporting me and the authors who felt privileged to be invited. This honor is so deserved!” 

Lori Rader-Day, award-winning author, said: “Lesa Holstine is joy personified. I love her enthusiasm for mystery reading.” 

Jane Cleland, Author of the Josie Prescott series, said: “Lesa is a doll, a complete peach! She's also a terrific writer, clear and insightful.” 

For additional information, please visit or Bouchercon is also on Facebook and Twitter.


Lesa said...

Janet, Thank you so much for sharing this all over. It means so much to me.

Gail Arnold said...

Congratulations, Lesa! Well deserved.

Lesa said...

Thank you, Gail!