Wednesday, July 28, 2021


The Australian Crime Writers Association (ACWA)
announced the shortlist for the 2021 Ned Kelly Awards. Congratulations to all!

Best Crime Fiction

  • Consolation (Garry Disher, Text)
  • Gathering Dark (Candice Fox, Penguin)
  • A Testament of Character (Sulari Gentill, Pantera)
  • The Survivors (Jane Harper, Pan)
  • The Good Turn (Dervla McTiernan, HarperCollins)
  • Tell Me Lies (J P Pomare, Hachette)
  • When She Was Good (Michael Robotham, Hachette)
  • White Throat (Sarah Thornton, Text)

Best Debut Crime Fiction

  • The Good Mother (Rae Cairns, Bandrui Publishing)
  • The Second Son (Lorraine Peck, Text)
  • The Bluffs (Kyle Perry, PRH)
  • The Night Whistler (Greg Woodlands, Text)

Best True Crime

  • The Husband Poisoner (Tanya Bretherton, Hachette)
  • Stalking Claremont: Inside the hunt for a serial killer (Bret Christian, HarperCollins)
  • Public Enemies (Mark Dapin, A&U)
  • Hazelwood (Tom Doig, Viking)
  • Witness (Louise Milligan, Hachette)

 Best International Cime Fiction

  • The Guest List  (Lucy Foley, HarperCollins)
  • The Secrets of Strangers (Charity Norman, A&U)
  • Take Me Apart (Sara Sligar, Text)
  • We Begin at the End (Chris Whittaker, A&U)
  • Broken (Don Winslow, HarperCollins).

Established in 1995, the Ned Kelly Awards are Australia’s oldest, most prestigious awards honoring crime fiction and true crime writing.

For more information about the 2021 shortlists, go to the ACWA website.

No comments: