Friday, July 2, 2021

CWA Dagger Award Winners 2021

The results are in. Crime Writers Association (UK) announced the Dagger Award winners last night. Congratulations to all!

Gold Dagger: We Begin at the End, by Chris Whitaker (Zaffre)

Ian Fleming Steel Dagger: When She Was Good, by Michael Robotham (Sphere)

John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger: The Creak on the Stairs, by Eva Björg Ægisdóttir (Orenda)

Sapere Books Historical Dagger: Midnight at Malabar House, by Vaseem Khan (Hodder & Stoughton)

ALCS Gold Dagger for Non-fiction: Written in Bone: Hidden Stories in What We Leave Behind, by Sue Black (Doubleday)

Crime Fiction in Translation Dagger: The Disaster Tourist, by Yun Ko-eun, translated by Lizzie Buehler (Serpent’s Tail)

Short Story Dagger: “Monsters,” by Clare Mackintosh (from First Edition: Celebrating 21 Years of Goldsboro Books, edited by David Headley and Daniel Gedeon; The Dome Press)

Dagger in the Library (“for a body of work by an established crime writer that has long been popular with borrowers from libraries”): Peter May

Publishers’ Dagger (“awarded annually to the Best Crime and Mystery Publisher of the Year”): Head of Zeus

CWA Debut Dagger (for as-yet-unpublished novels): Deception, by Hannah Redding. Highly commended: Underwater, by Fiona McPhillips

Martina Cole received the 2021 Diamond Dagger award for lifetime achievement.

1 comment:

Priscilla said...

I see more reading in my future…