Thursday, May 26, 2022



Crime Writers of Canada (CWC) announced the winners for the 2022 Crime Writers of Canada Awards of Excellence in Canadian Crime Writing. Started in 1984, the annual Crime Writers of Canada Awards of Excellence, then known as the Arthur Ellis Awards, recognizes the best in mystery, crime, and suspense fiction, and crime nonfiction by Canadian authors

The presentation of the winners can be viewed on CWC’s YouTube channel: 

Best Crime Novel sponsored by Rakuten Kobo, with a $1000 prize 

Dietrich Kalteis, Under an Outlaw Moon, ECW Press 

Best Crime First Novel sponsored by Writers First, with a $500 prize 

Ashley Audrain, The Push, Viking Canada 

The Whodunit Award for Best Traditional Mystery sponsored by Jane Doe, with a $500 prize 

Candas Jane Dorsey, What’s the Matter with Mary Jane?, ECW Press 

The Howard Engel Award for Best Crime Novel Set in Canada sponsored by The Engel Family, with a $500 prize 

C. S. Porter, Beneath Her Skin, Vagrant Press / Nimbus Publishing Inc. 

Best Crime Novella sponsored by Mystery Magazine, with a $200 prize 

Wayne Ng, Letters From Johnny, Guernica Editions 

Best Crime Short Story sponsored by Mystery Magazine, with a $300 prize 

Elizabeth Elwood, Number 10 Marlborough Place, Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine 

Best French Crime Book (Fiction and Nonfiction) Patrick Senécal, Flots, Editions Alire 

Best Juvenile or YA Crime Book (Fiction and Nonfiction) sponsored by Shaftesbury, with a $500 prize 

Kevin Sands, The Traitor's Blade, Aladdin (Simon & Schuster) 

The Brass Knuckles Award for Best Nonfiction Crime Book sponsored by Simpson & Wellenreiter LLP, Hamilton, with a $300 prize 

Nate Hendley, The Beatle Bandit, Dundurn Press 

The Award for Best Unpublished Manuscript sponsored by ECW Press, with a $500 prize 

Renee Lehnen, Elmington 


About Crime Writers of Canada 

Crime Writers of Canada was founded in 1982 as a professional organization designed to raise the profile of Canadian crime writers. Members include authors, publishers, editors, booksellers, librarians, reviewers, and literary agents as well as many developing authors. Past winners of the Awards have included major names in Canadian crime writing such as Mario Bolduc, Gail Bowen, Stevie Cameron, Howard Engel, Barbara Fradkin, Louise Penny, Peter Robinson and Eric Wright.