Wednesday, April 14, 2010

2010 Spotted Owl Award: Alan Bradley's The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie

2010 Spotted Owl Award Winner: 
Alan Bradley's The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie

Alan Bradley has been named by the Friends of Mystery as the winner of 2010 Spotted Owl Award for his debut novel, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie. The mystery, set in 1950’s Britain, is the first in a series featuring young Flavia de Luce as the protagonist. It won this year's Dilys Award and nominated for an Agatha Award and a Macavity Award. It previously won the CWA (Crime Writers Association-UK) 2007 Debut Dagger Award for an unpublished manuscript.

The Spotted Owl Award winner is chosen by a volunteer committee of Friends of Mystery members from a list of nominee mysteries, the authors of which must reside in the Pacific Northwest. A total of 72 books were considered for this year's award.

Hat Tip: Mystery Book News


Mason Canyon said...

Congratulations to Alan. I've heard and read great things about this book. I'll have to check it out.

Thoughts in Progress

Janet Rudolph said...

I really enjoyed this novel. I hope you will, too.