Tuesday, June 1, 2010

2010 Hammett Prize: The Manual of Detection

The North American Branch of the International Association of Crime Writers announced that The Manual of Detection, by Jedediah Berry (Penguin), has won the 2010 Hammett Prize for “literary excellence in the field of crime writing.” Berry received his award during a special ceremony at the Bloody Words X Mystery Conference in Toronto, Canada.

Nominees for the Hammett Prize included Bury Me Deep by Megan Abbott (Simon & Schuster), Devil’s Garden by Ace Atkins (Putnam), The Long Fall by Walter Mosley (Riverhead), and The Way Home by George Pelecanos (Little, Brown).

Jedediah received a bronze trophy, designed by West Coast sculptor, Peter Boiger. Congratulations, Jedediah!


Kerrie said...

I'm confused Janet. Has this just been announced?
The website says that he won the 2009 prize.

Janet Rudolph said...

Kerrie, you're right. This is for 2009, awarded in 2010. The Anthony, Edgar and Macavity Awards have all gone to the format of year awarded. I checked my announcement, and it said 2010, but I guess IACW is still using the older format of year in which written. Thanks for clearing that up. I'll fix it on the site.

Anonymous said...

The book is amazing--half like regular noir, but then surreal--or magically real ?

Honestly, I pray that it's turned into a movie someday.