Sunday, January 23, 2011

Left Coast Crime 2011 Award Nominations

Left Coast Crime 2011 — AKA "The Big Chile" — will give four awards at its 22nd annual convention to be held this year in Santa Fe, New Mexico. The awards will be voted on at the convention and presented at a banquet on Saturday, March 26th, 2011, at the historic La Fonda Hotel on the Plaza. The nomination period has just concluded. Nominees for works published in 2010:

The Lefty has been awarded for the best humorous mystery novel since 1996. This year’s nominees, in alphabetical order, are:

           1. Donna Andrews, Stork Raving Mad (Minotaur Books)
           2. Laura DiSilverio, Swift Justice (Minotaur Books/Thomas Dunne Books)
           3. Donna Moore, Old Dogs (Busted Flush Press)
           4. Kris Neri, Revenge for Old Times' Sake (Cherokee McGhee)
           5. J. Michael Orenduff, The Pot Thief Who Studied Einstein (Oak Tree Press)

The Bruce Alexander Memorial Historical Mystery Award, first awarded in 2004, is given for mystery novels covering events before 1950. This year’s nominees are:

           1. Rebecca Cantrell, A Night of Long Knives (Forge Books)
           2. Robert Kresge, Murder for Greenhorns (ABQ Press)
           3. Kelli Stanley, City of Dragons (Minotaur Books)
           4. Jeri Westerson, The Demon’s Parchment (Minotaur Books)
           5. Jacqueline Winspear, The Mapping of Love and Death (HarperCollins)

The Hillerman Sky Award is a special award given this year, in honor of the convention’s New Mexico location, to the mystery that best captures the landscape of the Southwest:

           1. Sandi Ault, Wild Penance (Berkley Hardcover)
           2. Christine Barber, The Bone Fire (Minotaur Books)
           3. Margaret Coel, The Spider's Web (Berkley Hardcover)
           4. Deborah J Ledford, Snare (Second Wind Publishing)

The Watson is another special award given this year to the mystery novel with the best sidekick. The nominees are:

           1. Sandi Ault, Wild Penance (Berkley Hardcover)
           2. Rachel Brady, Dead Lift (Poisoned Pen Press)
           3. Chris Grabenstein, Rolling Thunder (Pegasus)
           4. Craig Johnson, Junkyard Dogs (Viking)
           5. Spencer Quinn, To Fetch a Thief (Atria)

The Left Coast Crime Convention is an annual event sponsored by fans of mystery literature, for fans of mystery literature, including both readers and authors. Held in the western half of North America, LCC’s intent is to provide an event where mystery fans can gather in convivial surroundings to pursue their mutual interests.

The 22nd annual Left Coast Crime Convention will take place in Santa Fe, New Mexico, March 24-27, 2011. The convention’s theme, The Big Chile, highlights the essence that powers the food that fuels mystery fans living in and visiting New Mexico and the Southwest, as well as many of the fictional characters in books set in this part of the country. Noted author Martin Cruz Smith will be recognized for his Lifetime Achievement. Author Guests of Honor are Margaret Coel and Steven Havill. Marv Lachman is this year's Fan Guest of Honor, and author Steve Brewer is Toastmaster. The Big Chile "ghosts of honor" — who wrote important novels set in Northern New Mexico and the Southwest — are Dorothy B. Hughes (1904-1993) and Frances Crane (1896-1981).

Thanks to Lucinda Surber & Stan Ulrich, LCC 2011 Awards Committee Co-Chairs, for sending the news! Congratulations to all!


Anonymous said...

Janet - Thanks for this. This is really good stuff to know!

vallerose said...

Authors I recognize and books that look worthwhile. I might be able to vote this year if I start now.