Tuesday, July 1, 2014

Theakstons Crime Novel of the Year Shortlist


The Red Road - Denise Mina

The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter - Malcolm Mackay

The Chessmen - Peter May

Rubbernecker - Belinda Bauer

Dying Fall - Elly Griffiths

Eleven Days - Stav Sherez

The award is open to British and Irish authors whose novels were published in paperback in the last year.

The winner will be decided by a panel, chaired by writer Steve Mosby, which includes Simon Theakston, the executive director of Theakston; Radio Times' Alison Graham and Dave Swillman, head of fiction at WH Smith. A public vote will also be included in the final decision.

The Award will be presented on opening night at Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate on July 17. The winner will receive a £3,000 cash prize - as well as a handmade, engraved beer barrel. Also on the night, Lynda La Plante will receive the Outstanding Contribution to Crime Fiction Award.

HT:  Karen Meek at EuroCrime

No comments: