Thursday, April 18, 2019

ARTHUR ELLIS AWARDS SHORTLISTS for Excellence in Canadian Crime Writing

2019 Arthur Ellis Awards Shortlists for Excellence in Canadian Crime Writing

The annual Arthur Ellis Awards by Crime Writers of Canada recognizes the best in mystery, crime, and suspense fiction and crime nonfiction by Canadian authors. Winners will be announced on May 23rd at the Arthur Ellis Awards Gala in Toronto. 

Ron Corbett,
Cape Diamond, ECW Press
Anne Emery,
Though the Heavens Fall, ECW Press
Lisa Gabriele,
The Winters, Doubleday Canada
Louise Penny,
Kingdom of the Blind, Minotaur Books
Loreth Anne White,
The Girl in the Moss, Montlake Romance

BEST FIRST CRIME NOVEL (Sponsored by Rakuten Kobo)
A.J. Devlin,
Cobra Clutch, NeWest Press
Helen C. Escott,
Operation Wormwood, Flanker Press
Beverley McLachlin,
Full Disclosure, Simon & Schuster Canada 

Bill Prentice, Why Was Rachel Murdered?, Echo Road
Nathan Ripley,
Find You in the Dark, Simon & Schuster Canada

BEST CRIME NOVELLA The Lou Allin Memorial Award
Melodie Campbell,
The B-Team: The Case of the Angry First Wife, Orca Book Publishers 

Vicki Delany, Blue Water Hues, Orca Book Publishers
John Lawrence Reynolds,
Murder Among the Pines, Orca Book Publishers

BEST CRIME SHORT STORY (Sponsored by Mystery Weekly Magazine) 
Melodie Campbell, A Ship Called Pandora, Mystery Weekly Magazine  
Therese Greenwood, The Power Man, Baby It's Cold Outside, Coffin Hop Press 
Twist Phelan, Game, Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine
Linda L. Richards, Terminal City, Vancouver Noir, Akashic Books
Sam Wiebe,
Wonderful Life, Vancouver Noir, Akashic Books

Jean-Philippe Bernié,
Un dernier baiser avant de te tuer, Libre Expression 

Hervé Gagnon, Adolphus - Une enquête de Joseph Laflamme, Libre Expression 
André Jacques, Ces femmes aux yeux cernés, Éditions Druide
Guillaume Morissette,
Deux coups de pied de trop, Guy Saint-Jean Éditeur 

Johanne Seymour, Rinzen la beauté intérieure, Expression noir

Linwood Barclay,
Escape, Puffin Canada
Michelle Barker,
The House of One Thousand Eyes, Annick Press 

Kevin Sands, Call of the Wraith, Aladdin
Tim Wynne-Jones,
The Ruinous Sweep, Candlewick Press
E.R. Yatscoff,
The Rumrunner's Boy, TG & R Books

Patrick Brode,
Dying for a Drink: How a Prohibition Preacher Got Away With Murder, Biblioasis
Thomas Giacomaro and Natasha Stoynoff,
The King of Con: How a Smooth-Talking Jersey Boy Made and Lost Billions, Baffled the FBI, Eluded the Mob, and Lived to Tell the Crooked Tale, BenBella Books, Inc
Nate Hendley,
The Boy on the Bicycle: A Forgotten Case of Wrongful Conviction in Toronto, Five Rivers Publishing
Eve Lazarus,
Murder by Milkshake: An Astonishing True Story of Adultery, Arsenic, and a Charismatic Killer, Arsenal Pulp Press
Sarah Weinman,
The Real Lolita: The Kidnapping of Sally Horner and the Novel that Scandalized the World, Alfred A. Knopf Canada

BEST UNPUBLISHED MANUSCRIPT aka The Unhanged Arthur (Sponsored by Dundurn Press) 
Jim Bottomley, Hypnotizing Lions
Don Macdonald, Omand’s Creek
Liv McFarlane, The Scarlet Cross

Heather McLeod, One for the Raven Darrow Woods, The Book of Answers

CWC announces the 2019 Derrick Murdoch Award recipient Vicki Delany.

The Derrick Murdoch Award is a special achievement award for contributions to the crime genre. Vicki Delany is a successful and prolific Canadian writer, author of (so far) 34 published books, both standalones and series. She has been a strong supporter and advocate for Canadian crime writers through her work with the Crime Writers of Canada, including serving two terms as Chair of the organization. She has also been a strong supporter of literacy and libraries across Canada and she is one of the founders of the Women Killing It literary festival, which has become a much sought after and sold-out event in Prince Edward County every year.

About Crime Writers of Canada
Crime Writers of Canada was founded in 1982 as a professional organization designed to raise the profile of Canadian crime writers. Members include authors, publishers, editors, booksellers, librarians, reviewers, and literary agents as well as many developing authors. Past winners of the “Arthurs” have included such major names in Canadian crime writing as Mario Bolduc, Gail Bowen, Stevie Cameron, Howard Engel, Barbara Fradkin, Louise Penny, Peter Robinson and Eric Wright.

For more information about the awards, please contact:
Ludvica Boota, Arthur Ellis Awards Manager,

1 comment:

Coco Ihle said...

Congrats to all!!! Good luck!