Thursday, May 21, 2020

2020 ARTHUR ELLIS AWARDS for Excellence in Canadian Crime Writing

Crime Writers of Canada just announced the Winners of the 2020 Arthur Ellis Awards. Congratulations to all!

Best Crime Novel sponsored by Rakuten Kobo with a $1000 prize 
Michael Christie, Greenwood, MacClelland & Stewart

The Best Crime First Novel sponsored by Maureen Jennings with a $500 prize 
Philip Elliott, Nobody Move, Into the Void Press

Best Novella sponsored by Mystery Weekly with a $200 prize 
Wayne Arthurson, The Red Chesterfield, University of Calgary Press

Best Short Story sponsored by Mystery Weekly with a $300 prize
Peter Sellers, Closing Doors, Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine

Best French Book
Andrée Michaud, Tempêtes, Éditions Québec Amériques

Best Juvenile or YA Book sponsored by Shaftesbury with a $500 prize
Tom Ryan, Keep This to Yourself, Albert Whitman & Company

Best Nonfiction Book
Charlotte Gray, Murdered Midas: A Millionaire, His Gold Mine, and a Strange Death on an Island

The Unhanged Arthur Award for Best Unpublished Manuscript sponsored by Dundurn Press with a $500 prize
Liz Rachel Walker, The Dieppe Letters

1 comment:

Michael Gora said...

I always like to look at the books in these lists to find something new to order, so I just ordered the Best Crime Novel winner, "Greenwood". The description and reviews were outstanding.