Wednesday, May 8, 2024



The 2023 Dashiell Hammett Award for Literary Excellence in Crime Writing

IACW: International Association of Crime Writers


Night Letter by Sterling Watson, Akashic Books

The Almost Widow by Gail Anderson-Dargatz, Harper Avenue

Crook Manifesto by Colson Whitehead, Doubleday

Stealing by Margaret Verble, Mariner Books
The Quiet Tenant by Clémence Michallon, Alfred A. Knopf
These books are the best of the best, exhibiting the finest writing and the wide range of quality in contemporary crime writing.

When the final judges make their decision, the winner will be awarded the Hammett trophy (above), designed by artist Peter Boiger, depicting a falcon-headed figure based upon a celebrated photograph of Dashiell Hammett. The final decision will be made by this summer.

No comments: