Monday, June 1, 2009

Theakston Crime Novel Award Nominees

Theakston Crime Novel Award Nominees. The winner will be announced on July 23 at the Theakstons Old Peculiar Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate. The winner gets a check and a small oak beer cask, hand carved by one of the coopers working for the award sponsors. The first winner of the Crime Novel of the year in 2005 was Mark Billingham for Lazybones. The 2006 winner was Val McDermind and in 2007, Allan Guthrie. In 2008 the winner was debut crime novelist Stef Penney for The Tenderness of Wolves. The Public gets to vote on these awards.

What a great list!

The shortlist

Death Message by Mark Billingham

The Accident Man by Tom Cain

Bad Luck And Trouble by Lee Child

Gone To Ground by John Harvey

Ritual by Mo Hayder

The Garden of Evil by David Hewson

A Cure For All Diseases by Reginald Hill

The Colour Of Blood by Declan Hughes

Dead Man's Footsteps by Peter James

Broken Skin by Stuart MacBride

Beneath The Bleeding by Val McDermid

Exit Music by Ian Rankin

Friend Of The Devil by Peter Robinson

Savage Moon by Chris Simms


Maria said...

I haven't read a single one--yet! But I did read my first Val McDermid in the anthology, "Criminal Tendencies" just this weekend--Boy, was I impressed. I'm not done with the anthology, but the McDermid (Sneeze for Danger) will be one of the top ones, I'm sure. Maybe even my favorite. There's one other that is vying for favorite thus far.


(I'm not quite halfway through 24 stories!)

Priscilla Royal said...

Some old favorites on this list, like Rankin and Robinson, but delighted to see Stuart MacBride on here. He was a new find for me from Baltimore B'con and quickly became a "must have". Deftly combines the dark side with humor without a hitch. Val McDermid is another belated find.

Janet Rudolph said...

Isn't it wonderful to find new authors (new to you) and especially those with so many books. Lots of good reading!