Saturday, October 17, 2009

Shamus Awards

The Private Eye Writers of America present the Shamus Awards every year at the PWA dinner during Bouchercon. This years emotions were running wild in anticipation... o.k. some people were nervous. So without further ado, the winners of the Shamus Awards are:

Best Hardcover: Empty Ever After by Reed Farrel Coleman (Bleak House Books)

Best First P.I. Novel: In the Heat by Ian Vasquez (St. Martin’s Minotaur)

Best Paperback Original: Snow Blind by Lori Armstrong (Medallion)

Best Short Story: “Family Values” by Mitch Alderman (Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine [AHMM], June 2008)

PWA/St. Martin’s Best First Private Eye Novel contest (for an unpublished first P.I. novel): Michael Ayoob for Shots on Goal.

The Hammer Award for Best Character: Lawrence Block’s series private eye, Matthew Scudder.

The Eye (Lifetime Achievement) Award: Robert J. Randisi, author and PWA founder.

For the full list of nominees, go here.

1 comment:

vallerose said...

Very pleased that Reed won. I really enjoyed the evening that he was at your home. Overall, with the exception of the Stieg Larsen book that is very overrated, the award winners this year look good. Don't understand why there is an award for best cover art though.