Sunday, December 6, 2009

Nero Wolfe Award 2009


The Nero Award is presented each year to an author for the best American Mystery written in the tradition of Rex Stout's Nero Wolfe stories. It is presented at the Black Orchid Banquet, traditionally held on the first Saturday in December in New York City.

This year, the winner is Joseph Teller for The Tenth Case (Mira Books, an imprint of Harlequin Enterprises). The award was presented by Jane K. Cleland, chair of the Wolfe Pack's literary awards. Teller's third Jaywalker book, Depraved Indifference, is now available.

The Black Orchid Novella Award is presented jointly by The Wolfe Pack and Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine to celebrate the Novella format popularized by Rex Stout. This year's winner is Steve Liskow for "The Strangle Hold".

The Wolfe Pack, founded in 1977, is a forum to discuss, explore, and enjoy the 72 Nero Wolfe books and novellas written by Rex Stout. The organization promotes fellowship and extends friendship to those who enjoy these great literary works of mystery through a series of events, book discussions, and a journal devoted to the study of the genius detective, Nero Wolfe, and his intrepid assistant, Archie Goodwin. The organization has over 400 members worldwide.

No comments: