Thursday, October 14, 2010

Macavity Award Winners 2010

The Macavity Award Winners 2010. The Macavity is named for the "mystery cat" of T.S. Eliot (Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats). Each year the members of Mystery Readers International nominate and vote on these awards. I presented these awards this evening at Bouchercon, the World Mystery convention, held this year in San Francisco.

Best Mystery Novel: Ken Bruen & Reed Farrel Coleman: Tower (Busted Flush Press)

Best First Mystery Novel: Alan Bradley: The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie (Delacorte)

Best Mystery Nonfiction: P.D. James: Talking about Detective Fiction (Alfred A. Knopf)

Best Mystery Short Story: Hank Phillippi Ryan: "On the House" (Quarry: Crime Stories by New England Writers, Level Best Books)

Sue Feder Historical Mystery:  Rebecca Cantrell: A Trace of Smoke (Forge)

To see all the nominees, go HERE. Congratulations to all!


Priscilla said...

A great list. I have belatedly become a fan of Ken Bruen who is very dark but whose prose rings like poetry. And I thoroughly enjoyed PD James' book on detective fiction (especially after reading Symons). Never having seen the award itself, I am delighted since I understand cats on books quite well.

Msmstry said...

It was great seeing the awards up close this year. You're a dynamo. Thanks for all your hard work!

Janet Rudolph said...

And great to see you. Thanks so much!