Wednesday, April 13, 2011

CWA Dagger in the Library

This week is National Library Week, so it's particularly fitting that the The Crime Writers Association announced the longlist for the CWA Dagger in the Library.

SJ Bolton (Bantam Press, Transworld)
William Brodrick (Little, Brown)
RJ Ellory (Orion)
Jason Goodwin (Faber & Faber)
Elly Griffths (Quercus)
Sophie Hannah (Hodder & Stoughton)
John Harvey (Willian Heinemann)
Mo Hayder (Bantam, Transworld)
Susan Hill (Vintage)
Graham Hurley (Orion)
Peter James (Macmillan)
Philip Kerr (Quercus)
Phil Rickman (Quercus)
CJ Sansom (Macmillan)
Andrew Taylor (Penguin)
LC Tyler (Macmillan)

The CWA Dagger in the Library is sponsored by The Random House Group. Authors are nominated by UK libraries and Readers’ Groups and judged by a panel of librarians, all of whom work with the public. The Dagger is awarded to an author for a body of work, rather than a single title. As well as the Dagger, the winning author receives a cheque for £1500. Groups nominating the winning author will be entered into a draw for £300 to be spent on books.

The shortlist will be announced at Crimefest on May 20. The winner will be announced, along with other Daggers, during the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival, Harrogate, on the evening of July 22.

Hat Tip: The Rap Sheet

1 comment:

Priscilla said...

I'm always fond of the "daggers" and often find writers I didn't know about before. This list has some favs like Harvey and Kerr but I did see a to check them out!