Sunday, June 24, 2012

ForeWord Book of the Year Awards: Mystery

At a ceremony yesterday at ALA’s Annual Conference in Anaheim, California, ForeWord named Book of the Year Award winners in several categories. These books, representing the best independently published works from 2011, were selected by a panel of librarian and bookseller judges.

The Editor’s Choice Prize for Fiction was given to The Permanent Press for All Cry Chaos by Leonard Rosen. “It’s a rare pleasure to find a protagonist who reads like a literary figure in a thriller,” said editor-in-chief Julie Eakin.

Also of interest to mystery readers: Winners in Mystery (Adult Fiction)

Gold: Trick of the Dark by Val McDermid (Bywater Books)

Silver: Poison Makers by Jimmy Olsen (Hoffman House Press
Bronze: Medieval Murders by Aaron Stander (Writers and Editors)

ForeWord Reviews, a journal dedicated to reviewing independently published books, was established in 1998 and serves as the flagship periodical of booksellers, librarians, agents, and publishing professionals who want to access the best titles from small presses. ForeWord also provides a myriad of services to publishers, including international trade representation, Book of the Year Awards, Clarion fee-for-review service, publicity tools for authors, and an interactive website for the reading community at:

1 comment:

Michael Gora said...

I looked at reviews of "All Cry Chaos" and it was clear it was a must-read, so I just bought it for my Kindle.