Monday, November 23, 2015

MWA Grand Master, Raven, and Ellery Queen Awards

Mystery Writers of America Announced today the 2016 Grand Master, Raven, and Ellery Queen Award Winners

Walter Mosley has been chosen as the 2016 Grand Master by Mystery Writers of America (MWA). MWA's Grand Master Award represents the pinnacle of achievement in mystery writing and was established to acknowledge important contributions to this genre, as well as for a body of work that is both significant and of consistent high quality. Mr. Mosley will receive his award at the 70th Annual Edgar Awards Banquet, which will be held at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City on Thursday, April 28, 2016.

The Raven Award recognizes outstanding achievement in the mystery field outside the realm of creative writing. Two Raven Awards will be awarded in 2016: one to Margaret Kinsman and the other to Sisters in Crime.

The Ellery Queen Award was established in 1983 to honor “outstanding writing teams and outstanding people in the mystery-publishing industry". This year the Board chose to honor Janet A. Rudolph (yes, that would be me).. So honored and humbled.

The Edgar Awards, or "Edgars," as they are commonly known, are named after MWA's patron saint Edgar Allan Poe and are presented to authors of distinguished work in various categories. MWA is the premier organization for mystery writers, professionals allied to the crime-writing field, aspiring crime writers, and those who are devoted to the genre. For more information on Mystery Writers of America, please visit the website:


vallery said...

Let me be the first to congratulate you. Very well deserved.

Jane R said...

And I seconded it.... Congratulations!!

Anonymous said...

Congratulations!!! You richly deserve it for all you do.

LB Hunter said...


Gram said...

Congratulations and may I say well-deserved.