Monday, January 16, 2017


Lefty Award Nominees

The Lefty awards will be voted on at the convention and presented at a banquet on Saturday, March 18, at the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort. Congratulations to all the Nominees!

Lefty for Best Humorous Mystery Novel. This year’s nominees are:
  • Donna Andrews, Die Like an Eagle (Minotaur Books)
  • Ellen Byron, Body on the Bayou (Crooked Lane Books)
  • Timothy Hallinan, Fields Where They Lay (Soho Crime)
  • Heather Haven, The CEO Came DOA (Wives of Bath Press)
  • Johnny Shaw, Floodgate (Thomas & Mercer)
  • Diane Vallere, A Disguise To Die For (Berkley Prime Crime)
Lefty for Best Historical Mystery Novel (Bruce Alexander Memorial) for books covering events before 1960. This year’s nominees are:
  • Rhys Bowen, Crowned and Dangerous (Berkley Prime Crime)
  • Susanna Calkins, A Death Along the River Fleet (Minotaur Books)
  • Laurie R. King, The Murder of Mary Russell (Bantam Books)
  • Catriona McPherson, The Reek of Red Herrings (Minotaur Books)
  • Ann Parker, What Gold Buys (Poisoned Pen Press)
Lefty for Best Debut Mystery Novel. The nominees are:
  • Sarah M. Chen, Cleaning Up Finn (All Due Respect Books)
  • Marla Cooper, Terror in Taffeta (Minotaur Books)
  • Alexia Gordon, Murder in G Major (Henery Press)
  • Nadine Nettmann, Decanting a Murder (Midnight Ink)
  • Renee Patrick, Design for Dying (Forge)
Lefty for Best Mystery Novel (not in other categories). The nominees are:
  • Matt Coyle, Dark Fissures (Oceanview Publishing)
  • Gigi Pandian, Michelangelo’s Ghost (Henery Press)
  • Louise Penny, A Great Reckoning (Minotaur Books)
  • Terry Shames, The Necessary Murder of Nonie Blake (Seventh Street Books)
  • James W. Ziskin, Heart of Stone (Seventh Street Books)
The Left Coast Crime Convention is an annual event sponsored by mystery fans, both readers and authors. Usually held in the western half of North America, LCC’s intent is to host an event where readers, authors, critics, librarians, publishers, and other fans can gather in convivial surroundings to pursue their mutual interests. Lefty Awards have been given since 1996.

The 27th annual Left Coast Crime Convention will take place in Honolulu, Hawaii, March 16–19, 2017. Faye Kellerman and Jonathan Kellerman will be honored with Left Coast Crime Lifetime Achievement Awards. This year’s Guests of Honor are authors Dana Stabenow (American Guest of Honor) and Colin Cotterill (International Guest of Honor). Author Laurie R. King will serve as Toastmaster. 


Priscilla said...

A stellar lineup! Congratulations to all.

Heather Haven said...

Thank you so much for posting all the nominees, Janet. I feel we are all winners! My best, Heather

Vinnie/ said...

Delighted to recognize so many of the nominees and to count them among my friends. Congratulations to all!

Steve Weddle said...

Thanks for the info