Monday, January 16, 2017

The Glass Key Award: Ane Riel

For some reason I didn't see any notification of the winner of The Glass Key Award (The Scandinavian Crime Society Award), so I asked my friend Sue Trowbridge to do a search, since she's fluent in Swedish. Thanks, Sue! Harpiks is not yet translated into English.

Danish author Ane Riel gets 25th Glass Key 

August 8, 2016

The Scandinavian Crime Society (SKS) is pleased to announce that the Society Grand Prize, The Glass Key 2016 is awarded to the Danish author Ane Riel for Harpiks. Harpiks is no typical crime novel, but both a nasty and poignant portrayal of young Liv's upbringing. She begins her story: "It was dark in the white room, where my father killed my grandmother."

 Harpiks has in its homeland been awarded the Danish Crime Academy Harald Mogensen Prize for best Danish thriller.

Additional information about the author can be found at

The Glass Key was awarded for the 25th time. The first recipient was Henning Mankell, who won the award for Faceless Killers, the start of his blockbuster series about Ystad commissioner Kurt Wallander. Altogether, Sweden has won 8 Glass Keys, Denmark and Norway 7 each, Iceland and Finland 2 each.

Other nominees for this anniversary year were: Kati Hiekkapeito: Suojattomat (in en. The Defenseless.") FI Yrsa Sigurðadottír: DNA. ICE Kjell Ola Dahl: Kureren. NO. Anders de la Motte: Ultimatum. SE

No comments: