Sunday, May 19, 2019

Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Shortlist

2019 marks the 15th year of the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year award. The prize was created to celebrate the very best in crime fiction and is open to UK and Irish crime authors whose novels were published in paperback from 1 May 2018 to 30 April 2019. The award is run in partnership with T&R Theakston Ltd, WHSmith, and The Mail on Sunday.

The winner will be announced at an award ceremony hosted by broadcaster Mark Lawson on July 18 on the opening night of the 17th Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival at the Old Swan Hotel, Harrogate.

The winner will be determined by a panel of judges, as well as by an online public vote. Balloting  begins on Monday, July 1, and closes on Sunday, July 14. During those two weeks, the Theakston Brewing Company will post a link for voting.  


Snap by Belinda Bauer – Transworld
Thirteen by Steve Cavanagh – Hachette
London Rules by Mick Herron – John Murray Press
Broken Ground by Val McDermid – Little, Brown Book Group
The Quaker by Liam McIlvanney --HarperCollins
East of Hounslow by Khurrum Rahman – HarperCollins

1 comment:

Leslie Karst said...

I fell in love with Old Peculiar beer the year I studied at Exeter University back in the 1970s.