Thursday, March 31, 2011

2011 Derringer Awards

The Short Mystery Fiction Society announced the winners of the 2011 Derringer Awards for short mystery fiction:

Best Flash Fiction Story (under 1,000 words) - (TIE):
"The Book Signing," by Kathy Chencharik, Thin Ice: Crime Stories by New England Writers, Leslie Wheeler, Mark Ammons, Barbara Ross, Kat Fast, Eds., Level Best Books, November, 2010 
"The Unknown Substance" by Jane Hammons, A Twist of Noir, December 27, 2010

Best Short Story (1,001-4,000 words) :
"Pewter Badge," by Michael J. Solender, Yellow Mama, August, 2010

Best Long Story (4,001-8,000 words) - (TIE): 
"Care of the Circumcised Penis" by Sean Doolittle, Thuglit Presents: Blood, Guts & Whiskey, Todd Robinson, Ed., Kensington Publishing Corp., May, 2010
"Interpretation of Murder" by B. K. Stevens, Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine, December, 2010

Best Novelette (8,001-17, 500 words):
"Rearview Mirror" by Art Taylor, Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, March, 2010

Congratulations to all! Presentation of the Awards will take place in conjunction with the short story panel at Bouchercon 2011, held in St. Louis, MO in September.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Janet - Thanks for sharing this :-).