Friday, April 20, 2012

Arthur Ellis Awards Nominees

Crime Writers of Canada Nominees for the 29th annual Arthur Ellis Awards. Winners will be announced in Toronto on May 31.

Best Novel:
Alan Bradley, I Am Half-Sick of Shadows (Doubleday Canada)
William Deverell, I’ll See You in My Dreams (McClelland & Stewart)
Louise Penny, A Trick of the Light (St. Martin’s Press/Raincoast)
Peter Robinson, Before the Poison (M&S)
Robert Rotenberg, The Guilty Plea (Simon & Schuster)

Best Non-Fiction 
Jay Bahader, The Pirates of Somalia (HarperCollins Canada)
Robert Fowler, A Season in Hell (HarperCollins Canada)
Adrian Humphreys, The Weasel: A Double Life in the Mob (John Wiley & Sons Canada)
Joshua Knelman, Hot Art: Chasing Thieves and Detectives through the Secret World of Stolen Art (Douglas & McIntyre)
Steven Laffoley, The Devil and the Deep Blue Sea (Pottersfield Press)

Best Juvenile/Young Adult
Becky Citra, Missing (Orca Book Publishers)
Rob Mills, Charlie’s Key (Orca)
Edeet Ravel, Held (Annick Press)
Arthur Slade, Empire of Ruins (HarperCollins Canada)
Tim Wynne-Jones, Blink & Caution (Candlewick Press/Random House)

Best First Novel
Norm Foster, Watching Jeopardy (Xlibris)
Ian Hamilton, The Water Rat of Wanchai (Spiderline/House of Anansi)
Fraser Nixon, The Man Who Killed (D&M)
Sean Slater, The Survivor (S&S)
Roger White, Tight Corner (BPS Books)

Best Short Story
Catherine Astolfo, “What Kelly Did” (Northword Magazine)
Melodie Campbell, “The Perfect Mark” (Flash Fiction Magazine)
Scott Mackay, “The Girl with the Golden Hair” (Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine)
Shane Nelson, “Beer Money” (Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine)
Jas. R. Petrin, “A New Pair of Pants” (Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine)

Unhanged Arthur (Best Unpublished First Crime Novel)
William Bonnell, Snake in the Snow
Valerie A. Drego, The Rhymester
Madeleine Harris-Callway, Gunning for Bear
Shane Sawyer, Too Far to Fall
 Sam Wiebe, Last of the Independents

Best Crime Writing in French
 Guillaume Lapierre-Desnoyers, Pour Ne pas mourir ce soir (Lévesque Éditeur)
Martin Michaud, La chorale du diable (Les Éditions Guélette)
 Diane Vincent, Pwazon (Triptyque)

No comments: