Friday, August 31, 2012

2012 Tony Hillerman Writers Conference

November 8–10. 2012: Hotel Santa Fe, Santa Fe, NM. 2012 Tony Hillerman Writers Conference. Established to honor mystery author Tony Hillerman, the conference keeps Hillerman's legacy alive with workshops on the art and craft of writing and welcomes writers of all genres and abilities.

Among its faculty:
Johnny Boggs, recipient of multiple awards most recently two 2012 Spur Awards from Western Writers of America for his fiction.
David Morrell, winner of the Bram Stoker Award for Best Novel.
James McGrath Morris, recipient of two New Mexico Book Awards and the Eagleton-Waters Book Award for his biographies.
Michael Orenduff, winner of Left Coast Crime's Lefty Award for best humorous mystery.
Tom Chavez, recipient of the Distinguished History Award Medal from the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution and the Excellence in the Humanities Award.
Andrew Hunt, winner of the 2011 Tony Hillerman Prize for best first mystery novel.
Jo-Ann Mapson, recipient of the American Library Association's 2011 RUSA Award for women's fiction.

Registration information and complete schedule:

Conference includes all-day workshop for authors on pacing their work with plenty of opportunity for writing and discussion, a day on the craft of writing and a day on the business of writing with faculty members such as editor Peter Joseph of St. Martin's Press in New York. A morning-long session for writers on publishing their own e-books with Bill O'Hanlon, a look at the process of bring a book to the screen with director/producer Chris Eyre, and an opportunity for a "flash" critique from a literary agent and Rambo creator and thriller writer David Morrell are other conference highlight. Chris Eyre, the award-winning, nationally recognized film and television director and producer who has been called the preeminent Native American filmmaker of his time. Authors Richard Peck, Steve Brewer and Judi Hendrix will share their expertise about writing and answer questions from the audience.

The Tony Hillerman Writer's conference began in 2004. Hillerman offered ideas and encouragement to Schaumberg and co-founder Anne Hillerman until his death in 2008. After a year's hiatus, the conference resumed in 2010. In selecting faculty, the conference focuses on highlighting the wealth of literary talent in New Mexico.

 "The small size of the conference enables students to interact informally with each other and our faculty," Anne Hillerman said. "We have students from all over the country who join us each year. We began the conference to honor my Dad and it has blossomed into a way to support New Mexico authors and encourage good writing."

           For further details, visit

No comments: