Friday, May 16, 2014

Bram Stoker Awards

Winners of the 2013 Bram Stoker Awards were announced at the World Horror Convention in Portland, Oregon.

Superior Achievement in a NOVEL: Doctor Sleep by Stephen King (Scribner)

Superior Achievement in a FIRST NOVEL: The Evolutionist by Rena Mason (Nightscape Press)

Superior Achievement in a YOUNG ADULT NOVEL: Dog Days by Joe McKinney (JournalStone)

Superior Achievement in a GRAPHIC NOVEL: Alabaster: Wolves by Caitlín R. Kiernan (Dark Horse Comics)

Superior Achievement in LONG FICTION: “The Great Pity” by Gary Braunbeck (Chiral Mad 2, Written Backwards)

Superior Achievement in SHORT FICTION: “Night Train to Paris” by David Gerrold (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science
Fiction, Jan./Feb. 2013)

Superior Achievement in a SCREENPLAY: The Walking Dead: “Welcome to the Tombs” by Glen Mazzara (AMC TV)

Superior Achievement in an ANTHOLOGY: After Death… edited by Eric J. Guignard (Dark Moon Books)

Superior Achievement in a FICTION COLLECTION: The Beautiful Thing That Awaits Us All and Other Stories by Laird Barron (Night
Shade Books)

Superior Achievement in NONFICTION: Nolan on Bradbury: Sixty Years of Writing About the Master of Science Fiction by
William F. Nolan (Hippocampus Press)

Superior Achievement in POETRY: Four Elements by Marge Simon, Rain Graves, Charlee Jacob, and Linda Addison
(Bad Moon Books/Evil Jester Press)

HWA also presented

Editor Stephen Jones and R. L. Stine -- Lifetime Achievement Award

The Specialty Press Award -- Gary Fry of Gray Friar Press.

The Silver Hammer Award, for outstanding service to HWA, was voted by the
organization’s board of trustees to Norman Rubenstein.

The President’s Richard Laymon Service Award was given to JG Faherty.

No comments: