Thursday, May 1, 2014


Mystery Writers of America just announced the Winners of the 2014 Edgar Allan Poe Awards, honoring the best in mystery fiction, non-fiction and television, published or produced in 2013. Congratulations to all!

Best Novel 

Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger (Simon & Schuster – Atria Books)

Best First Novel

Red Sparrow by Jason Matthews (Simon & Schuster - Scribner)

Best Paperback Original

The Wicked Girls by Alex Marwood (Penguin Group USA - Penguin Books)

Best Fact Crime

The Hour of Peril: The Secret Plot to Murder Lincoln Before the Civil War by Daniel Stashower (Minotaur Books)

Best Critical/Biographical

America is Elsewhere: The Noir Tradition in the Age of Consumer Culture by Erik Dussere (Oxford University Press)

Best Short Story

"The Caxton Private Lending Library and Book Depository" – Bibliomysteries by John Connolly (Mysterious)

Best Juvenile

One Came Home by Amy Timberlake (Random House Children's Books – Alfred A. Knopf BFYR)

Young Adult

Ketchup Clouds by Annabel Pitcher (Hachette Book Group – Little, Brown Books for Young Readers) 

TV Episode Teleplay

"Episode 1" – The Fall, Teleplay by Allan Cubitt (Netflix)

Robert L. Fish Memorial

"The Wentworth Letter" – Criminal Element's Malfeasance Occasional
by Jeff Soloway (St. Martin's Press)
Mary Higgins Clark Award

Cover of Snow by Jenny Milchman (Random House Publishing Group – Ballantine Books)
Grand Master
Robert Crais 
Carolyn Hart
Aunt Agatha's Bookstore, Ann Arbor, Michigan


Rosemary Harris said...

Well done, all! Now I've got a few titles to add to the tbr list...

vallery said...

Ordinary Grace-very well deserved. Cover of Snow?????? The Fall is a very long wait on Netflix-I put it on as I've heard good things about it from friends. So far the Edgars this time, look as though they got it right.