Tuesday, May 6, 2014

Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Longlist

Now in its tenth year, the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award was created to celebrate the very best in crime writing and is open to crime authors whose novels were published in paperback from 1 May 2013 to 30 April 2014. The long list, comprising 18 titles, is selected by an academy of crime writing authors, agents, editors, reviewers, members of the Crime Writing Festival Programming Committee and representatives from T&R Theakston Ltd and WHSmith.

Rubbernecker, Belinda Bauer, Transworld Publishers
The Shining Girls, Lauren Beukes, HarperCollins
The Dying Hours, Mark Billingham, Little, Brown Book Group
 Like This, For Ever, Sharon Bolton, Transworld Publishers
A Wanted Man Lee Child, Transworld Publishers
The Honey Guide, Richard Crompton, Orion
The Cry, Helen Fitzgerald, Faber & Faber Dying Fall, Elly Griffiths, Quercus
Until You're Mine, Samantha Hayes, Random House
The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter, Malcolm Mackay, Pan Macmillan
The Chessmen, Peter May, Quercus
I Hear The Sirens In The Street, Adrian McKinty, Profile Books
The Red Road, Denise Mina, Orion
Ratlines, Stuart Neville, Vintage, Random House
Standing in Another Man's Grave, Ian Rankin, Orion
Children of the Revolution, Peter Robinson, Hodder & Stoughton
Eleven Days, Stav Sherez, Faber & Faber
Weirdo Cathi Unsworth, Profile Books

The longlist will be cut to a shortlist of six titles to be announced on June 30. The overall winner will be decided by a panel of Judges which this year comprises of Executive Director of T&R Theakston Ltd. and title sponsor Simon Theakston, Festival Chair Steve Mosby, Radio Times’ Alison Graham, and Head of Fiction at WHSmith, Dave Swillman, as well as members of the public. The public vote opens on July 3 and closes July 15 at www.theakstons.co.uk

HT: Karen Meek, EuroCrime

No comments: