Sunday, May 10, 2015


The Horror Writers Association, the premier organization of writers and publishers of horror and dark fantasy, today announced the 2015 winners of the Bram Stoker Award®. Named in honor of the author of the seminal horror novel Dracula, the Bram Stoker Awards® are presented annually for superior writing in eleven categories including traditional fiction of various lengths, poetry, screenplays and non-fiction.

The HWA also presents a Lifetime Achievement Award to living individuals who have made a substantial and enduring contribution to the genre. This year’s Lifetime Achievement recipients are Jack Ketchum and Tanith Lee.

The presentation of the Bram Stoker Awards® occurred during the World Horror Convention in Atlanta, Georgia on the evening of Saturday, May 9, 2015. The awards presentation was also live-streamed online.

Superior Achievement in a Novel
Steve Rasnic Tem – Blood Kin (Solaris Books)

Superior Achievement in a First Novel
Maria Alexander – Mr. Wicker (Raw Dog Screaming Press)

Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel
John Dixon – Phoenix Island (Simon & Schuster/Gallery Books)

Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel
Jonathan Maberry – Bad Blood (Dark Horse Books)
Superior Achievement in Long Fiction
Joe R. Lansdale – “Fishing for Dinosaurs” (Limbus, Inc., Book II) (JournalStone)

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction (Tie)
Usman T. Malik – “The Vaporization Enthalpy of a Peculiar Pakistani Family” (Qualia Nous) (Written Backwards)
Rena Mason – “Ruminations” (Qualia Nous) (Written Backwards)

Superior Achievement in a Screenplay
Jennifer Kent – The Babadook (Causeway Films)

Superior Achievement in an Anthology
Ellen Datlow – Fearful Symmetries (ChiZine Publications)

Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection
Lucy A. Snyder – Soft Apocalypses (Raw Dog Screaming Press)

Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction
Lucy A. Snyder – Shooting Yourself in the Head For Fun and Profit: A Writer’s Survival Guide (Post Mortem Press)

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection
Tom Piccirilli – Forgiving Judas (Crossroad Press) 

For all the nominees, go HERE.

No comments: