Monday, November 7, 2016

2017 Pepe Carvalho Prize

Dennis Lehane has won the 2017 Pepe Carvalho Prize. The prize is given by the Barcelona City Council in recognition of prestigious national and international crime fiction writers. 

The prize will be given at the next literary festival BCNegra, which will take place in Barcelona between 27 January and 4 February 2017.

The Pepe Carvalho Award is a tribute to the memory of Spanish writer Manuel Vázquez Montalban and his famous detective Pepe Carvalho, who contributed to the revival of crime fiction in Europe in the 70s. 

Lehane is the latest to win the award and joins a list made up of: Donna Leon (2016), Alicia Giménez Bartlett (2015), Andrea Camilleri (2014), Maj Sjöwall (2013), Petros Màrkaris (2012), Andreu Martín (2011), Ian Rankin (2010), Michael Connelly (2009), P.D. James (2008), Henning Mankell (2007) and Francisco González Ledesma (2006).

HT: The Rap Sheet and A Crime is Afoot

No comments: