Friday, June 28, 2019

MCILVANNEY PRIZE LONGLIST: Scottish Crime Book of the Year

The Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival (September 20-22, 2019) organizers announced the shortlists for the McIlvanney Prizes. 

McIlvanney Prize Longlist:
 All the Hidden Truths, by Claire Askew (Hodder)
 No Man’s Land, by Neil Broadfoot (Little, Brown)
 Fallen Angel, by Chris Brookmyre (Little, Brown)
 Breakers, by Doug Johnstone (Orenda)
 All That’s Dead, by Stuart MacBride (HarperCollins)
 In the Silence, by M.R. Mackenzie (Bloodhound)
 Broken Ground, by Val McDermid (Little, Brown)
 A Breath on Dying Embers, by Denzil Meyrick (Polygon)
 Conviction, by Denise Mina (Vintage)
 The Way of All Flesh, by “Ambrose Parry” (Canongate), aka Chris Brookmyre and Marisa Haetzman
 In a House of Lies, by Ian Rankin (Orion)
 A Treachery of Spies, by Manda Scott (Transworld)
 Thunder Bay, by Douglas Skelton (Polygon)

McIlvanney Debut Prize Shortlist:
 All the Hidden Truths, by Claire Askew (Hodder)
 From the Shadows, by G.R. Halliday (Vintage)
 Black Camp 21, by Bill Jones (Polygon)
 In the Silence, by M.R. Mackenzie (Bloodhound)
 The Peat Dead, by Allan Martin (Thunderpoint)

The winners of both awards will be announced on Friday, September 20, during the opening reception at the Bloody Scotland convention in Stirling.

These annual awards recognize “excellence in Scottish crime writing,” are named in honor of William McIlvanney, author of the novel Laidlaw.

HT: The Rap Sheet

No comments: