Wednesday, April 21, 2021



Crime Writers of Canada (CWC) announcde the Shortlists for the 2021 Crime Writers of Canada Awards of Excellence in Canadian Crime Writing. Formerly known as the Arthur Ellis Awards, the Awards started in 1984. The annual Crime Writers of Canada Awards of Excellence recognizes the best in mystery, crime, and suspense fiction, and crime nonfiction by Canadian authors. Congratulations to all! Winners will be announced Thursday 27 May 2021.

Best Crime Novel sponsored by Rakuten Kobo, with a $1000 prize
Marjorie Celona, How a Woman Becomes a Lake, Hamish Hamilton Canada; Penguin

Cecilia Ekbäck, The Historians, HarperCollins Publishers Ltd. Will Ferguson, The Finder, Simon & Schuster Canada 

Thomas King, Obsidian, HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.
Roz Nay, Hurry Home, Simon & Schuster Canada

Best Crime First Novel sponsored by Writers First, with a $500 prize 

Raye Anderson, And We Shall Have Snow, Signature Editions
Guglielmo D’Izza, The Transaction, Guernica Editions
Russell Fralich, True Patriots, Dundurn Press

Emily Hepditch, The Woman in the Attic, Flanker Press
Chris Patrick Carolan, The Nightshade Cabal, Parliament House Press

The Howard Engel Award for Best Crime Novel Set in Canada sponsored by The Engel Family with a $500 prize

Randall Denley, Payback, Ottawa Press and Publishing
Helen Humphreys, Rabbit Foot Bill, HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.
Ann Lambert, The Dogs of Winter, Second Story Press
Kevin Major, Two for The Tablelands, Breakwater Books
Katrina Onstad, Stay Where I Can See You, HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.

Best Crime Novella sponsored by Mystery Weekly with a $200 prize  

C.C. Benison, The Unpleasantness at the Battle of Thornford, At Bay Press 

Vicki Delany, Coral Reef Views, Orca Book Publishers
Winona Kent, Salty Dog Blues, Sisters in Crime - Canada West
Sam Wiebe, Never Going Back, Orca Book Publishers

Best Crime Short Story sponsored by Mystery Weekly with a $300 prize  

Marcelle Dubé, Cold Wave, Sisters in Crime - Canada West
Sylvia Maultash Warsh, Days Without Name, Carrick Publishing
Twist Phelan, Used to Be, Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine

Zandra Renwick, Killer Biznez, Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine
Sarah Weinman, Limited Liability, Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine

Best French Crime Book (Fiction and Nonfiction)

Roxanne Bouchard, La mariée de corail, Libre Expression
Stéphanie Gauthier, Inacceptable, Éditions Québec Amérique
Christian Giguère, Le printemps des traîtres, Héliotrope NOIR
Guy Lalancette, Les cachettes, VLB éditeur
Jean Lemieux, Les Demoiselles du Havre-Aubert, Éditions Québec Amérique

Best Juvenile or YA Crime Book (Fiction and Nonfiction) sponsored by Shaftesbury with a $500 prize

Frances Greenslade, Red Fox Road, Puffin Canada, an imprint of Penguin Random House Janet Hill, Lucy Crisp and the Vanishing House, Tundra Books, an imprint of Penguin Random House

Sheena Kamal, Fight Like a Girl, Penguin Teen, an imprint of Penguin Random House

Kelly Powell, Magic Dark and Strange, Margaret K. McElderry Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Inc.

Tom Ryan, I Hope You're Listening, Albert Whitman & Co.

The Brass Knuckles Award for Best Nonfiction Crime Book sponsored by Simpson & Wellenreiter LLP, Hamilton, with a $300 prize

Jeff Blackstock, Murder in the Family: How the Search For My Mother's Killer Led to My Father, Viking Press

Norm Boucher, Horseplay: My Time Undercover on the Granville Strip, NeWest Press

Silver Donald Cameron, Blood in the Water: A True Story of Revenge in the Maritimes, Viking Press

Justin Ling, Missing From the Village: The Story of Serial Killer Bruce McArthur, the Search for Justice, and the System That Failed Toronto's Queer Community, McClelland & Stewart

Michael Nest with Deanna Reder and Eric Bell, Cold Case North: The Search for James Brady and Absolom Halkett, University of Regina Press

The Award for Best Unpublished Manuscript with a $500 prize sponsored by ECW Press

The Future by Raymond Bazowski
Predator and Prey by Dianne Scott
Notes on Killing your Wife by Mark Thomas A Nice Place to Die by Joyce Woollcott
Cat with a Bone by Susan Jane Wright

CWC announces the 2021 Derrick Murdoch Award recipient Marian Misters.

The Derrick Murdoch Award is a special achievement award for contributions to the Canadian crime writing genre. As co-owner of Toronto’s Sleuth of Baker Street, Marian Misters has been supporting mystery authors since the bookstore opened and CWC from its inception. Through hosting book events, she has helped launch the career of many CWC authors. In addition, Marian served as Jury Chair for the Awards for three years, during which time she streamlined and developed written procedures for the judges. She was also instrumental in guiding CWC to a new, more diverse, Jury Selection Committee format, and has been active on the Awards Committee for five years.

About Crime Writers of Canada

Crime Writers of Canada was founded in 1982 as a professional organization designed to raise the profile of Canadian crime writers. Our members include authors, publishers, editors, booksellers, librarians, reviewers, and literary agents as well as many developing authors. Past winners of the Awards have included such major names in Canadian crime writing as Mario Bolduc, Gail Bowen, Stevie Cameron, Howard Engel, Barbara Fradkin, Louise Penny, Peter Robinson and Eric Wright. We would like to thank ECW Press, Rakuten Kobo, Mystery Weekly Magazine, Shaftesbury, Simpson and Wellenreiter LLP (Hamilton), and the Howard Engel family for their sponsorship, and the many participating publishers for their continued support.

Find CWC at

1 comment:

Judy Penz Sheluk said...

Thank you for sharing this!