Wednesday, April 7, 2021


Crimefest Awards Shortlists

Specsavers Debut Crime Novel Award
- Eva Björg Aegisdóttir for The Creak on the Stairs (Orenda Books)
- Marion Brunet for Summer of Reckoning (Bitter Lemon Press)
- Robin Morgan-Bentley for The Wreckage (Trapeze)
- Richard Osman for The Thursday Murder Club (Viking)
- Mara Timon for City of Spies (Zaffre)
- Trevor Wood for The Man on the Street (Quercus)

Audible Sounds of Crime Award
- Lee & Andrew Child for The Sentinel, reader Jeff Harding (Transworld)
- Lucy Foley for The Guest List, readers Olivia Dowd, Aoife McMahon, Chloe Massey, Sarah Ovens, Rich Keeble & Jot Davies (HarperFiction)
- Robert Galbraith for Troubled Blood, reader Robert Glenister (Little, Brown Book Group)
- Anthony Horowitz for Moonflower Murders, readers Lesley Manville & Allan Corduner (Penguin Random House Audio)
- Peter James for Find Them Dead, reader Daniel Weyman (Pan Macmillan)
- Lisa Jewell for Invisible Girl, reader Donna Banya, Rebekah Staton & Connor Swindells (Penguin Random House Audio)

- Lynda La Plante for Buried, readers Alex Hassell & Annie Aldington (Zaffre)
- T. M. Logan for The Catch, reader Philip Stevens (Zaffre)
- Richard Osman for The Thursday Murder Club, reader Lesley Manville (Viking)
- Ian Rankin for A Song for the Dark Times, reader James Macpherson (Orion)

eDunnit Award
- Gabriel Bergmoser for The Hunted (Faber)
- Sharon Bolton for The Split (Trapeze) 
- J. P. Carter for Little Boy Lost (Avon)
- Steve Cavanagh for Fifty-Fifty (Orion Fiction)
- Michael Connelly for Fair Warning (Orion Fiction)
- James Lee Burke for A Private Cathedral (Orion Fiction)
- Ian Rankin for A Song for the Dark Times (Orion Fiction)
- Holly Watt for The Dead Line (Raven Books)

H. R. F. Keating Award
- Mark Aldridge for Agatha Christie’s Poirot: The Greatest Detective in the World (HarperCollins)
- Martin Edwards (editor) for Howdunit: A Masterclass in Crime Writing by Members of the Detection Club (Collins Crime Club)
- Colin Larkin for Cover Me: The Vintage Art of Pan Books: 1950-1965 (Telos Publishing)
- Andrew Lycett for Conan Doyle’s Wide World (Tauris Parke)
- Heather Martin for The Reacher Guy (Constable)
- Sheila Mitchell for H. R. F. Keating: A Life of Crime (Level Best Books)
- Craig Sisterson for Southern Cross Crime: The Pocket Essential Guide to the Crime Fiction, Film & TV of Australia and New Zealand (Oldcastle Books)
- Peter Temple for The Red Hand: Stories, reflections and the last appearance of Jack Irish (riverrun)
Last Laugh Award
- Ben Aaronovitch for False Value (Gollancz)
- Christopher Fowler for Bryant & May - Oranges and Lemons (Doubleday)
 - Elly Griffiths for The Postscript Murders (Quercus)
- Carl Hiaasen for Squeeze Me (Sphere)
- Richard Osman for The Thursday Murder Club (Viking)
- Malcolm Pryce for The Corpse in the Garden of Perfect Brightness (Bloomsbury Publishing)
- Khurrum Rahman for Ride or Die (HQ)
- Olga Wojtas for Miss Blaine's Prefect and the Vampire Menace (Contraband)

Best Crime Novel for Children (Ages 8-12)
- Sophie Deen for Agent Asha: Mission Shark Bytes (Walker Books)
- Elly Griffiths for A Girl Called Justice - The Smugglers' Secret (Quercus Children's Group)
- Anthony Horowitz for Nightshade (Walker Books)
- Jack Noel for My Headteacher is an Evil Genius (Walker Books)
- Serena Patel for Anisha, Accidental Detective (Usborne Publishing)
- Serena Patel for School's Cancelled (Usborne Publishing)
- Onjali Q. Rauf for The Night Bus Hero (Orion Children's Group)
- Dave Shelton for The Pencil Case (David Fickling Books)

Best Crime Novel for Young Adults (Ages 12-16)
- William Hussey for Hideous Beauty (Usborne Publishing)
- Lauren James for The Reckless Afterlife of Harriet Stoker (Walker Books)
- Matt Killeen for Devil Darling Spy (Usborne Publishing)
- Patrice Lawrence for Eight Pieces of Silva (Hodder Children's Group)
- Simon Lelic for Deadfall (Hodder Children's Group)
- Robert Muchamore for Hacking, Heists & Flaming Arrows (Hot Key Books)
- Patrick Ness for Burn (Walker Books)
- Nancy Springer for The Case of the Missing Marquess (Hot Key Books)

Congratulations to all the nominees!

The awards will be announced in the first week of June.

No comments: