Tuesday, June 28, 2011

Macavity Award Nominations

The Macavity Awards are nominated and voted on by members of Mystery Readers InternationalMystery Readers Journal is MRI's publication. The winners will be announced at Bouchercon, the World Mystery Convention. Bouchercon will be held in St. Louis in September. This award is named for the "mystery cat" of T.S. Eliot (Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats).

Congratulations to all!

Macavity Award Nominees:

Best Mystery Novel
The Glass Rainbow by James Lee Burke (Simon & Schuster)
Faithful Place by Tana French (Viking)
The Queen of Patpong by Timothy Hallinan (HarperCollins-William Morrow)
Thirteen Hours by Deon Meyer (Grove Atlantic)
Bury Your Dead by Louise Penny (Minotaur)
The Scent of Rain and Lightning by Nancy Pickard (Ballantine)

Best First Mystery Novel
The Damage Done by Hilary Davidson (Forge)
Rogue Island by Bruce DeSilva (Forge-Tom Doherty Associates)
The Poacher’s Son by Paul Doiron (Minotaur)
Full Mortality by Sasscer Hill (Wildside)
A Thousand Cuts by Simon Lelic (Viking)

Best Mystery-Related Nonfiction
The Poisoner’s Handbook: Murder and the Birth of Forensic Medicine in Jazz Age New York by Deborah Blum (Penguin)
Agatha Christie’s Secret Notebooks: Fifty Years of Mysteries in the Making by John Curran (HarperCollins)
Following the Detectives: Real Locations in Crime Fiction edited by Maxim Jakubowski (New Holland)
Charlie Chan: The Untold Story of the Honorable Detective and His Rendezvous with American History by Yunte Huang (W.W. Norton)
Thrillers: 100 Must Reads, edited by David Morrell and Hank W Wagner (Oceanview Publishing)

Best Mystery Short Story
“The Scent of Lilacs” by Doug Allyn (EQMM)
“Swing Shift” by Dana Cameron in Crimes by Moonlight: Mysteries from the Dark Side (Berkley)
“Devil’s Pocket” by Keith Gilman in Philadelphia Noir (Akashic)
“The Gods for Vengeance Cry” by Richard Helms (EQMM)
“Bookworm” by G.M. Malliet in Chesapeake Crimes: They Had It Comin’ (Wildside)

Sue Feder Memorial Historical Mystery
A Marked Man by Barbara Hamilton (Berkley)
The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet by David Mitchell (Random House)
City of Dragons by Kelli Stanley (Minotaur)
The Red Door by Charles Todd (HarperCollins- William Morrow)
The Fifth Servant by Kenneth Wishnia (HarperCollins-William Morrow)


Jeff Sherratt said...

Thanks for posting the winners. I'll look for their books. But would it be nice if a few books published by a number of the outstanding independent presses were represented on the list?

Janet Rudolph said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Anonymous said...

Deon Meyer's publisher (Grove Atlantic) is independent.

yellowdoggranny said...

James Lee Burke should win every award for any book he writes..
his books sing.

Beth Groundwater said...

A great collection of books and authors!

Anonymous said...

Wildside Press is a small press.

Beth said...

Tim Halliinan has long deserved more recognition than he gets. THE QUEEN OF PATPONG, in part, reads like a memoir, no small task when a man is writing the life of a woman.

Simon Lelic's A THOUSAND CUTS is a stunning book. Those who do not have children from pre-school to college can not fully appreciate the culture of bullying that has appeared in the last few years.

Kenneth Wishnia said...

Akashic is a small press, too.

Kiwicraig said...

Pleased to see Burke on the list - he's been operating at such a high level for so very long that it seems that many awards just overlook him now. THE GLASS RAINBOW was, IMO, one of the very best crime novels of 2010, if not the best, so glad to see the Macavity voters recognising it.

Doron Locketz , Bookdealers , Johannesburg said...

I was disappointed with Deon Meyer`s 13 Hours , although good I think all his previous books were better
Doron Locketz
South Africa