Friday, July 22, 2011

Theakstons Old Peculiar Crime Award Winner: Lee Child

Lee Child, British creator of the Jack Reacher series,  won the 2011 Theakstons Old Peculier crime novel of the year award for the 14th installment in his bestselling series, 61 Hours.
Speaking after Thursday's award ceremony, which opened the Harrogate crime writing festival,  Lee Child said it was "a thrill" to receive the £3,000 award. "I remember when I was writing 61 Hours that I felt it had come out nicely," he said, "but to have the recognition is great."

Read the rest of the article from the Guardian HERE.

Val McDermid introduced P.D. James who received a special award for Outstanding Contribution to Crime Fiction. There was a standing ovation.

The shortlist for the 2011 Theakstons Old Peculier Award:
From The Dead by Mark Billingham (Sphere)
Blood Harvest by SJ Bolton (Corgi Books)
61 Hours by Lee Child (Bantam Books)
Dark Blood by Stuart MacBride (Harper Fiction)
The Holy Thief by William Ryan (Pan Books)
The Anatomy of Ghosts by Andrew Taylor (Michael Joseph)

No comments: