Tuesday, March 19, 2013

Best of Racing Literature Awards

From the Daily Racing Form:

The six semi-finalists for the seventh annual Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award have been announced. Conceived and launched in 2006 by the late Castleton Lyons owner Dr. Tony Ryan, the award has annually showcased the best of racing literature. Originally known as the Castleton Lyons Book Award, the name was changed to honor its founder, who died in 2007.

Congrats to nominee Sasscer Hill for Racing From Death (Wildside Press)

The other nominees: 
Flying Change: A Year of Racing and Family and Steeplechasing
Author: Patrick Smithwick
Publisher: Chesapeake Publishing

Kentucky Derby Dreams: The Making of Thoroughbred Champions
Author: Susan Nusser
Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books

My Year of the Racehorse
Author: Kevin Chong
Publisher: Greystone Books

The Garrett Gomez Story: A Jockey’s Journey Through Addiction and Salvation     
Author: Rudolph Alvarado, with Garrett Keith Gomez
Publisher: Caballo Press of Ann Arbor

The Kentucky Derby: How the Run for the Roses Became America’s Premier Sporting Event
Author: James C. Nicholson
Publisher: The University Press of Kentucky

When Racing Was Racing – A Century of Horse Racing
Author: Adam Powley
Publisher: Haynes Publishing

The winner of the 2012 Book Award will be announced on April 10 at Castleton Lyons during a cocktail reception held in a room above the farm’s stallion barn.  First prize is $10,000, with $1,000 awarded to each runner-up. In addition, all three finalists will receive a Tipperary Crystal trophy.

No comments: