Saturday, March 23, 2013

Left Coast Crime Awards 2013

Rochelle Staab: The Watson
The winners of the following Awards were given out at Left Coast Crime 2013 tonight in Colorado Springs, CO.

The Lefty for best humorous mystery novel since 1996:

Brad Parks, The Girl Next Door (Minotaur)

    • Mike Befeler, Cruising in Your Eighties Is Murder (Five Star)
    • Laura DiSilverio, Swift Run (Minotaur)
    • Jess Lourey, December Dread (Midnight Ink)
    • Lisa Lutz, Trail of the Spellmans (Simon & Schuster)
    • Nancy Glass West, Fit To Be Dead (Southwest Publications)
The Bruce Alexander Memorial Historical Mystery Award for mystery novels covering events before 1960.   

Catriona McPherson, Dandy Gilver and an Unsuitable Day for a Murder (Minotaur)

    • Rhys Bowen, The Twelve Clues of Christmas (Berkley Prime Crime)
    • Rebecca Cantrell, A City of Broken Glass (Forge)
    • Dennis Lehane, Live by Night (William Morrow)
    • Jacqueline Winspear, Elegy for Eddie (HarperCollins)
The Rocky for best mystery novel set in the Left Coast Crime Geographical Region:
Craig Johnson, As the Crow Flies (Viking)

    • Margaret Coel, Buffalo Bill’s Dead Now (Berkley Prime Crime)
    • Chuck Greaves, Hush Money (Minotaur)
    • Beth Groundwater, Wicked Eddies (Midnight Ink)
    • Darrell James, Sonora Crossing (Midnight Ink)

The Watson for mystery novel with best sidekick:
Rochelle Staab, Brouja Brouhaha (Berkley Prime Crime)

    • Juliet Blackwell, In a Witch’s Wardrobe (Obsidian)
    • Robert Crais, Taken (Putnam)
    • Chris Grabenstein, Fun House (Pegasus)
    • L.C. Hayden, When the Past Haunts You (CreateSpace)

The Left Coast Crime Convention is an annual event sponsored by fans of mystery literature for fans of mystery literature, including both readers and authors. Usually held in the western half of North America, LCC’s intent is to provide an event where mystery fans can gather in convivial surroundings to pursue their mutual interests.

The 23rd annual Left Coast Crime Convention took place in Colorado Springs, CO, March 21–24, 2013. This year’s Guests of Honor were authors Craig Johnson and Laura Lippman. Actor Lou Diamond Phillips was a Special Guest. Tom and Enid Schantz were the Fan Guests of Honor. Author David Corbett served as Toastmaster, and Parnell Hall entertained as the “Last Resort” Troubadour.


Anonymous said...

Did Lou Diamond Phillips make it after the weather delay? I had to leave early.
Congrats to the LCC committee for a job well done.

Janet Rudolph said...

Yes, Lou Diamond Phillips made it, and it was fabulous!! great interview!

Kaye George said...

I'm late getting here, but thanks for the list, Janet, and big congrats to all the winners and nominees!