Friday, May 13, 2016

Mystery Writers Key West Fest: June 10-12, 2016

2016 Mystery Writers Key West Fest: June 10-12, 2016
Doubletree Resort by Hilton Grand Key

The 3rd Annual Mystery Writers Key West Fest
Robert K. Tanenbaum  is the keynote speaker along with a criminally stellar hit-list of award-winning and bestselling crime fiction authors and true-crime experts.

Schedule of Events: June 10-12


1:00 Workshop - Monroe County Sheriff’s SWAT Team and Key West Police Department Team Members (subject to change)

2:00 Workshop - James O. Born - “How to Write a Novel, Part 1"

3:00 Workshop - James O. Born - “How to Write a Novel, Part 2"

4:00 Workshop - Lisa Black - "Real Forensics and the Mystery Writer"

5:30-8:30 Reception at Smokin’ Tuna Saloon in Old Town Key West 6:00 - 6:30 Welcome - County and City Officials
6:30 Sit-down dinner at Smokin' Tuna Saloon (included in registration + $20 for each additional guest)
7:00 - 8:30 Mystery Roast – James O. Born, MC


8:14 a.m. Welcome comments from Michael Haskins & Shirrel Rhoades
8:30 a.m. Panel Discussion: How I Write – Blank Screen to ‘The End’
8:30 a.m. Moderator Siera London
Robert Coburn
Rick Ollerman
Victoria Landis
Sandra Balzo
Bill Craig

9:45 a.m. Panel Discussion: Creating Suspense
9:45 a.m. Moderator Mike Dennis
Heather Graham
Lisa Black
Anna Castle
Don Bruns

11 a.m. The Whodunit Award Presented by Shirrel Rhoades and Sandra Balzo.
Introduction of last year’s winner J.E. Irvin Presentation of the 2016 Mystery Writing Award

11:30 a.m. – 1:15 p.m. Luncheon with Special Guest Author Robert K Tanenbaum (included in registration - + $30 for each additional guest)

1:30 p.m. Panel Discussion: Believable Dialogue.
Moderator: Anna Castle
Timothy Hallinan
Siera London
Mel Taylor
Deborah Sharp

2:45 p.m. Panel Discussion: Noir
Moderator: Shirrel Rhoades
Mike Dennis
Jake Hinkson
Paul McGoran
Lewis M. Weinstein

4 p.m. Panel Discussion: Local Law Enforcement
Moderator: James O. Born
FDLE - FLorida Department of Law Enforcement - Carol Frederick JIATF
Joint Interagency Task Force - Jim Linder
KWPD – Key West Police Department
MCSO – Monroe County Sheriff’s Office
JIATF – Joint Interagency Task Force

To Contact Mystery Writers Key West Fest

To Contact:
Mystery Writers Key West Fest
Please write to:
Mystery Writers Key West Fest,
926 Truman Avenue, Key West,
Florida 33040

or Email Us

Register Now

Event registration includes all panels, presentations and four meals.
It's a steal at just $175

We'll be holed up at the luxurious
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Grand Key
Call 305-293-1818 to make your booking.
Registrant rooms are specially priced at $199.00 per room, per night with Code Word MY3. This special will end May 15, 2016.
Room coordinator Becky Swope is available to assist attendees in finding room-mates to share cost of room:
Evening Events:
5:15 p.m. Depart hotel for sunset and dinner at the waterfront Turtle Kraals Restaurant and Tower Bar
6 – 7 p.m. Sunset cocktails (cash bar)
7 p.m. Dinner (included in registration + $35 each for additional guests)
7:30 – 8:30 p.m. Guest speaker Timothy Hallinan
9:00 p.m. Sloan’s Haunted Key West Ghost Tour:  Join New York Times and USA Today best selling author Heather Graham who will co-host this haunting Old Town walk-about. (included in registration - + $15 for each additional guest)


8 – 11 a.m. Brunch at Schooner Wharf Bar at the historic Key West waterfront. Sponsored by Mystery Writers of America - Florida Chapter (included in registration + $15 for each additional guest).



Four finalists have been announced in a nationwide competition to claim the 2016 Mystery Writers Whodunit Award, to be presented at the 3rd Annual Mystery Writers Key West Fest.

Coronado’s Trail by Carl Bock of Loveland, CO
Murder with Kayaks in the Florida Keys by Elia Chepaitis of Grassy Key, FL
The Crayon Box by Paul Marion Geiger of Ocean City, MD
Tequila Mockingbird by Lewis C. Haskell of Key West, FL

Candidates for the Award, which is supported by the Marion Stevens Fund at the Community Foundation of the Florida Keys and sponsored by Absolutely Amazing eBooks, were required to submit the first three pages of a finished, but unpublished manuscript to a judging committee led by mystery author Sandra Balzo. Ted Hertel, an attorney, author, reviewer and past executive vice president of Mystery Writers of America; Gary Warren Niebuhr, library director, reviewer and author of numerous nonfiction works on the subject of crime fiction; and Shirrel Rhoades, an author, film critic, media consultant and publisher of Absolutely Amazing eBooks completed the judging team.

1 comment:

Dana King said...

Sweet. My conference schedule is full for this year, but I'll have to keep this one in mind for next year.