Monday, March 1, 2010

Jo Nesbø wins Palle Rosenkrantz Prize: Berkeley Lit Salon: March 19

Jo Nesbø's novel The Leopard has won the Palle Rosenkrantz Prisen (Prize) by the Danish Crime Academy (Det danske Kriminalakademi) for the year's Best Crime Novel. The prize is named after Palle Rosenkrantz (1867-1941), who is viewed as the first Danish crime fiction author (Mordet i Vestermarie, published 1902). Jo Nesbø is Norwegian.

The list of previous winners includes, among others, John Le Carre, P.D.James, Ruth Rendell, Colin Dexter, Peter Robinson, Hakan Nesser, Karin Alvtegen, Don Winslow, Leif Davidsen, Peter Hoeg, Gunnar Staalesen, Donna Leon, Ian Rankin and Reginald Hill.

Palle Rosenkrantz Prisen is a prize awarded annually for the best crime fiction novel published in Danish. The prize is awarded by the Danish Crime Academy (Det danske Kriminalakademi).

The Leopard has not been released in English yet.

Jo Nesbø has eight acclaimed crime novels featuring Detective Harry Hole. He has received numerous awards in Norway and won the hearts of critics, booksellers and readers.

Jo Nesbø will be touring in the U.S. this month, and Mystery Readers NorCal will host him at an afternoon Literary Salon on March 19 at 2 p.m, in Berkeley, CA. His latest book in the U.S. is Nemesis. Please email me for directions.

Watch an English interview with Jo Nesbø about The Leopard, HERE.

Hat Tip to Crime Scraps and The Rap Sheet.

No comments: